The best gluten free breads make everyday toast and sandwiches possible without wheat, barley, or rye. For this 2026 guide, I ranked 10 currently listed loaves by their stated features, available certifications, intended format, customer rating, and review volume rather than pretending that a label description is a personal taste test.
Gluten-free bread commonly relies on flour blends and binding agents such as xanthan gum or cellulose gum to do the structural work that gluten handles in conventional bread. That is why one loaf may be best for a cold sandwich while another is more convincing after toasting: slice shape, moisture, and the maker’s storage directions all matter.
For people with celiac disease, a gluten-free name alone is not the whole safety check. I would look for a current certification or clear allergen statement on the package, then confirm the product still fits your needs before eating it; production and labeling can change.
The Top 3 Picks Best Gluten Free Breads in 2026
The 365 multigrain loaf leads this set because it has the highest listed rating, 4.4 out of 5, and the broadest review base at more than 3,200 reviews. Little Northern is the clearer specialty-diet choice because its listing specifically says certified gluten free, vegan, and free from the top eight allergens.
The 365 white loaf is my straightforward pick for shoppers who want a simple white gluten free sandwich bread with a large review base. These rankings are a screen of the available product data, not a claim that every eater will prefer the same crumb or flavor.
The Best Gluten Free Breads in September 2026
This overview keeps the choice practical: select by the bread style you want first, then check the product details that affect your diet. Full labels remain the deciding document for celiac-safe bread and other allergen needs.
| Product | Specifications | Action |
|---|---|---|
365 Gluten Free Multigrain Bread |
|
View Product |
Little Northern Wide Sliced Whole Grain |
|
View Product |
Franz Deli-Style Brioche Bread |
|
View Product |
365 Gluten Free White Bread |
|
View Product |
Franz Gluten Free Mountain White |
|
View Product |
Schär Artisan Baker 10 Grains & Seeds |
|
View Product |
Pacha Organic Buckwheat Bread |
|
View Product |
Cappello’s Gluten Free Baguettes |
|
View Product |
BFree White Sourdough Loaf |
|
View Product |
Simple Kneads Gluten-Free Sourdough |
|
View Product |
1. 365 Multigrain Bread is the strongest all-around choice
365 By Whole Foods Market, Gluten Free Multigrain Bread, 20 Ounce
20 ounce loaf
4.4 rating from 3.3k reviews
Multigrain
Pros
- 4.4 listed rating
- Large review base
- No hydrogenated fats
- No bleached flour
Cons
- Frozen Bread category
- No storage guidance stated
I put this 365 multigrain loaf first because a 4.4 rating across 3,281 reviews gives it more supporting feedback than any other product in this group. The listing identifies it as a 20-ounce frozen-bread product, so I would plan freezer space before making it the household staple.
Its stated food standards are unusually clear: no hydrogenated fats or high fructose corn syrup, no bleached or bromated flour, and no synthetic nitrates or nitrites. Those are ingredient-screening points, not proof of a particular soft texture or sandwich performance.
The available data does not name a gluten-free certification, allergens, slice width, or thawing method. Anyone who needs a celiac safe bread should read the current package rather than infer those details from the product name.
This bread works best for shoppers who want multigrain bread with broad buyer feedback
The 20-ounce size and multigrain format make this a sensible first loaf for ordinary toast, sandwiches, and breadcrumbs. I would choose it when I want a widely reviewed option with stated ingredient exclusions rather than a specialty sourdough or baguette.
Its more than 3,200 reviews make the 4.4 average more informative than ratings built from only a few dozen purchases. That does not tell us whether its slices are oversized, but it does give this product the firmest feedback base here.
This bread needs a label check when certification or storage details decide the purchase
Frozen-bread placement may be useful for stocking up, yet the source does not provide a thawing or after-opening timeline. I would check the pack for current handling instructions before relying on it for packed lunches.
The product name says gluten free, but the supplied listing does not state a certification. For a severe allergy or celiac disease, that missing detail is a reason to verify the present-day package.
2. Little Northern Bakehouse is the leading wide-slice allergy-aware option
Little Northern Bakehouse Gluten Free Wide Sliced Whole Grain Bread, Non-GMO and Allergy-Friendly (4 pack, 20 oz. each)
Four 20 ounce loaves
Certified gluten free
Wide sliced
Pros
- Certified gluten free
- Vegan
- Top 8 allergen-free
- Non-GMO verified
Cons
- Packed from freezer
- Seven-day stated shelf life
Little Northern Bakehouse earns a high place because the listing directly states certified gluten free, vegan, and free from the top eight allergens. It also calls the product wide sliced whole grain bread, a welcome detail for readers tired of the tiny-slice complaint that comes up often in gluten-free communities.
The package is a four-pack totaling 80 ounces, with 20 ounces per loaf. It arrives packed from the freezer, and the maker gives a seven-day shelf life plus freezer storage for up to six months.
Its listed 4.3 average is based on 213 reviews, with 68% of ratings at five stars. I see that as useful feedback, though it is a much smaller sample than the two highly reviewed 365 loaves.
This bread suits households that need wide slices and several dietary filters
Wide slicing is the product detail that matters most for a gluten free bread for sandwiches, especially when you want a filling that extends past the center of the slice. The vegan and top-eight-allergen-free claims also make the label easier to screen for mixed-diet households.
The listed six-month freezer window supports occasional use without rushing through a loaf. I would thaw only what the household can finish during the stated seven-day period.
This bread asks shoppers to plan around frozen delivery and a multi-loaf format
Four loaves are practical for regular bread eaters, but less convenient for someone trying one new brand. The freezer-first format is explicit, so do not assume the loaf will arrive ready for a same-day cold sandwich.
Certification is a strong signal, but it never replaces reading the package for individual allergens or medical directions. The source does not provide a detailed ingredient list or describe its crumb.
3. Franz Deli-Style Brioche is the focused pick for brioche-format bread
Franz Gluten Free Deli-Style Brioche Bread – 2 Pack (2 x 14 oz)
Two 14 ounce loaves
Deli-style brioche
Stay-fresh packaging
Pros
- Deli-style brioche
- Two-pack format
- Stay-fresh packaging
- Five-day use guidance
Cons
- Only 25 reviews
- No certification stated
This Franz product is a two-pack of 14-ounce deli-style brioche loaves. I would put it on the shortlist when the brioche format is the main goal, since that identity is much more specific than a generic white sandwich loaf.
The listing says it uses stay-fresh packaging and is best consumed within five days once opened. That clear post-opening direction is useful for planning French toast, sweet breakfast sandwiches, or a few days of toast.
Its 4.3 average comes from 25 reviews, with 68% five-star and 19% four-star ratings. The average is encouraging, but the small review count means I would treat it as a focused-format choice rather than the most broadly validated loaf.
This bread fits cooks who specifically want a gluten-free brioche format
Deli-style brioche is the product’s defining claim, so it makes sense for recipes that call for a richer bread style rather than multigrain or sourdough. The two-loaf format can also help a household use one loaf while keeping the second unopened.
The five-day guidance gives this bread a clear rhythm after opening. I would plan the menu before breaking the seal instead of leaving it to sit unused.
This bread is less certain for shoppers who rely on large-scale review evidence
Twenty-five reviews is a limited feedback pool next to the thousands recorded for the 365 options. That gap does not make the bread poor; it simply limits how confidently we can generalize from its rating.
The supplied data does not state a gluten-free certification, dietary exclusions, or ingredient list beyond the gluten-free title. Verify those points on the package if they are decisive for you.
4. 365 White Bread is the simple white-sandwich alternative
365 by Whole Foods Market, Bread White Gluten-Free, 20 Ounce
20 ounce loaf
4.2 rating from 2.9k reviews
White bread
Pros
- 20 ounce loaf
- 4.2 listed rating
- Large review base
- White sandwich format
Cons
- No certification stated
- No storage guidance stated
This 365 white loaf is the uncomplicated white-bread counterpart to the multigrain pick. Its 4.2 rating from 2,943 reviews gives it a large pool of feedback, which is why I rank it ahead of several loaves with similarly good but much smaller rating samples.
The listing states a 20-ounce package and categorizes it as white sandwich bread. That makes its intended role clear even though the supplied product details do not report slice dimensions, texture, or a specific toast recommendation.
For someone looking to buy gluten free bread for basic lunches, the plain white format is the appeal. I would not assume it behaves like wheat bread until I have checked how the current loaf holds fillings at home.
This bread is a good match for shoppers who prefer a plain white loaf
White sandwich bread is a familiar starting point for PB&J, grilled cheese, and simple breakfast toast. The 20-ounce size is also the same listed size as the top-ranked 365 multigrain product, which helps make a like-for-like format comparison.
Its review base is nearly 3,000 strong, so the displayed 4.2 rating has more context than most lower-volume entries. I would prioritize it over a novelty format when the goal is everyday simplicity.
This bread requires more investigation when ingredient and safety details matter
The information supplied here names the brand and white-bread format but does not list certification, allergens, or storage instructions. Those omissions are not negative ingredient claims; they are details to confirm from the physical package.
It also carries no stated promise about wide slices or sandwich durability. If small slices have been a frustrating issue, check a current product image and label before ordering.
5. Franz Mountain White is the larger two-loaf white-bread option
Franz Gluten Free Mountain White Bread – 2 Pack (2 x18 oz)
Two 18 ounce loaves
4.1 rating
Stay-fresh packaging
Pros
- Two 18 ounce loaves
- White sandwich bread
- Stay-fresh packaging
- Five-day use guidance
Cons
- Only 69 reviews
- No certification stated
Franz Mountain White comes as two 18-ounce loaves, for a larger total bread supply than the single 20-ounce loaves. It has a 4.1 listed rating from 69 reviews and is categorized as white sandwich bread.
Like the Franz brioche, it is sold in stay-fresh packaging and is best consumed within five days after opening. I appreciate that concrete handling note because freshness is a recurring concern with gluten-free breads.
The listing does not make a claim about wide slices, certification, or texture. I would choose this over the brioche only when a plain white format and the larger two-loaf quantity are more important than a brioche style.
This bread is right for white-bread households that can use two larger loaves
Two 18-ounce loaves suit a home that goes through toast and sandwiches steadily. The stated five-day window should guide the timing: open one loaf at a time if that better fits your household.
Its white sandwich-bread category makes the intended use clear without adding unverified texture claims. I would use the current package instructions to decide whether it needs thawing, toasting, or any particular storage method.
This bread is a weaker fit when evidence from many buyers is a priority
The 69-review sample provides far less feedback than the 365 white loaf’s 2,943 reviews. The two ratings are close, but their evidence base is not.
The source includes no named certification or allergen statement. People managing celiac disease or other allergies should make the current label their final check.
6. Schär Artisan Baker is the seed-forward multigrain pantry pick
Schär Gluten-Free Artisan Baker Bread, 10 Grains & Seeds, 14.1 oz, 8-Pack Nutritious, Non-GMO, Packed with Sunflower, Flax, Chia, Millet, and Quinoa, Perfect for Sandwiches or Toast
10 grains and seeds
Non-GMO ingredients
Eight pack
Pros
- 10 grains and seeds
- Non-GMO ingredients
- No artificial preservatives
- Eight-pack
Cons
- Only 46 reviews
- Package-size details differ
Schär Artisan Baker Bread is the most seed-focused loaf in this roundup. Its listing names a blend of 10 grains and seeds, including sunflower, flax, chia, millet, and quinoa, and calls out non-GMO ingredients with no artificial preservatives.
The product is described as an eight-pack and its feature copy says it is intended for sandwiches, toast, or a standalone snack. The source reports a 4.1 rating from 46 reviews, so the product data supports the style and stated ingredients more firmly than a broad consensus about taste.
I would flag one source inconsistency before buying: the title gives one per-loaf size, while the feature text refers to a different size. That is a good reason to check the live package details instead of assuming the exact amount.
This bread serves shoppers who want seeds and grains in a gluten-free loaf
The named seed and grain blend distinguishes it from the plain white and brioche choices. It is the logical option here for people who want a bolder multigrain direction for toast or sandwiches.
An eight-pack also favors planned pantry or freezer storage. Before committing, I would verify the number of loaves, package size, and current storage directions on the listing or package.
This bread needs a careful order check because the supplied package details conflict
When size information differs across a title and feature copy, the package label should settle the question. That check matters when portion planning or freezer capacity is part of the decision.
The source does not present a certification statement or complete allergen information. Its gluten-free title is relevant, but it is not a substitute for reading the current safety labeling.
7. Pacha Buckwheat Bread is the organic vegan sourdough choice
Pacha Buckwheat Bread – Certified Organic, Gluten-Free, Vegan, Sourdough – 22 OZ
22 ounce loaf
Organic
Vegan sourdough
Pros
- Certified organic
- Vegan
- Sourdough format
- 22 ounce loaf
Cons
- 3.9 listed rating
- No certification details stated
Pacha positions this 22-ounce buckwheat loaf as certified organic, gluten-free, vegan sourdough. That combination makes it a distinct choice for shoppers who want a plant-based sourdough direction rather than a conventional-style white loaf.
Its listed rating is 3.9 from 253 reviews. The source also identifies it as sourdough sandwich bread, so I would view it as a format-specific selection, not as a claim that it will mimic wheat sourdough for every palate.
The supplied feature data is short and does not describe slice width, crust, or storage. That lack of detail is worth knowing before choosing it for a particular job such as cold deli sandwiches.
This bread fits organic and vegan shoppers who want a sourdough format
Organic certification, vegan status, and buckwheat sourdough are all stated in the product title. Those clear filters can narrow the field quickly for someone who has already ruled out white sandwich bread.
The 22-ounce size is also one of the larger single-loaf formats listed here. I would still inspect the current label for the full ingredient and allergen information that the source does not reproduce.
This bread is less suited to buyers who want the highest displayed rating
A 3.9 rating is lower than the leading 365 and Little Northern options, even though its 253 reviews give the figure some context. If broad buyer feedback comes first, start with a higher-rated entry.
The available data does not include a crumb description or a toast instruction. For the best gluten free bread taste test at home, compare it with a familiar loaf using the same sandwich or toast routine.
8. Cappello’s Baguettes are the bake-at-home crusty-format option
Cappello’s Baguettes, Gluten Free, Frozen Bread 10 oz
10 ounce frozen baguettes
GFCO certified
Bake 15 to 18 minutes
Pros
- GFCO certified
- No soy or dairy
- Kosher
- Bake-at-home format
Cons
- 3.8 listed rating
- Only 21 reviews
Cappello’s is not a sliced sandwich loaf; it is a 10-ounce frozen baguette product meant to be baked for 15 to 18 minutes. That distinction is useful for a dinner table, garlic bread, or a meal where a crusty exterior matters more than a pre-sliced lunch loaf.
The listing says it is GFCO certified, glyphosate free, soy free, dairy free, and kosher. It also says the wheat starch bread is made by washing gluten from wheat and tested to less than 5 ppm, which is a manufacturer claim that I would confirm on the current package if it affects medical decisions.
Its 3.8 rating is drawn from 21 reviews, and the sample includes a notable share of three-star feedback. I would see this as a specialized bake-at-home bread rather than a general winner for daily sandwiches.
This bread is best for cooks who want freshly baked gluten-free baguettes
The 15-to-18-minute bake time is the main appeal. It gives a meal a just-baked bread component that a shelf-ready sliced loaf does not try to provide.
GFCO certification plus the stated soy-free and dairy-free claims give this product a stronger documented dietary profile than several entries. Keep it frozen until the planned bake, following the current package directions.
This bread does not suit shoppers who need ready-sliced lunch bread
A baguette format requires baking and cutting, so it adds work before a meal. It is not the convenient answer for a rushed PB&J or packed cold sandwich.
The rating comes from only 21 reviews, the smallest substantial sample in this list. The product’s format and certifications are more persuasive reasons to select it than its limited feedback total.
9. BFree White Sourdough is the full-slice high-fiber choice
BFree Gluten Free White Sourdough Loaf, High Fiber Sliced Bread, Dairy Free, Wheat Free, Vegan Friendly, Kosher, Artisan Bakery Sandwich Breads for Toast, Breakfast & Sandwiches (2 Pack)
Two sourdough loaves
4 grams fiber per serving
Full slices
Pros
- 4 grams fiber
- Full slices
- Dairy free
- Vegan friendly
Cons
- 3.7 listed rating
- Only 12 reviews
BFree White Sourdough makes the clearest slice-size promise in the collection: the maker says its thick artisan-inspired slices are full-sized, smooth, and hole free. For readers who describe disappointing gluten-free portions as bread for gnomes, that stated format deserves attention.
The two-pack is also dairy free, wheat free, vegan friendly, and kosher according to the listing. It supplies 4 grams of fiber per serving and names psyllium husk and buckwheat flour in its feature information.
Its 3.7 rating comes from only 12 reviews, so I would treat the listing’s full-slice claim as a claim to verify rather than a consensus backed by many customers. The source says it is suitable for toast, French toast, deli sandwiches, grilled cheese, and more, but individual results can differ.
This bread works for people who prioritize stated full slices and added fiber
Full slices that do not fall apart are a direct response to two common frustrations: undersized bread and unstable sandwiches. That makes BFree one of the most relevant options for a loaded lunch or grilled cheese.
The listed 4 grams of fiber per serving and dairy-free, vegan-friendly claims add practical dietary filters. I would confirm serving size and ingredients on the current pack, particularly if fiber or other nutrition details guide your choice.
This bread needs patience from shoppers who depend on extensive buyer feedback
Twelve reviews are too few to read as a stable verdict on texture, freshness, or sandwich durability. A 3.7 average can shift more quickly with a small number of new reviews than an average based on thousands.
The listing has many broad use suggestions, yet a short review history. Buy it for its stated format and dietary claims, not because the available rating alone settles how it will work in your kitchen.
10. Simple Kneads Sourdough is the organic top-allergen-free option
Simple Kneads Gluten-Free Sourdough Bread 3 Pack – Organic, Top 9 Allergen-Free, Artisan-Style Loaves-Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Three organic loaves
Top 9 allergen-free
Naturally cultured
Pros
- Certified gluten-free
- Organic
- Top 9 allergen-free
- Naturally cultured
Cons
- 3.5 listed rating
- No weight stated
Simple Kneads brings together several hard-to-find filters: certified gluten-free, organic, naturally cultured sourdough, and top-nine-allergen-free status. The listing says the three artisan-style loaves use extra virgin olive oil and are free from gluten, dairy, soy, nuts, and other top allergens.
It is presented as classic sourdough with a light, moist crumb and artisan-style crust, suitable for sandwiches, toast, or recipes. Those details come from the manufacturer listing, so I would regard them as intended characteristics rather than an independent taste result.
The listed rating is 3.5 from 89 reviews. That places it lower in this group, but the stringent dietary positioning can matter more than a ranking for shoppers who must avoid several allergens.
This bread suits people who need organic bread with top-allergen-free claims
For a household balancing gluten, dairy, soy, nut, and related restrictions, the stated top-nine-allergen-free profile may narrow the search faster than flavor labels do. The three-loaf format also provides a prepared supply for those who already know it fits their diet.
The naturally cultured sourdough and extra virgin olive oil claims separate it from the plain white entries. I would verify each current allergen statement before sharing it with a person who has a serious allergy.
This bread is not the first choice when the highest rating is the deciding factor
Its 3.5 average is the lowest displayed rating among these 10 products, despite having 89 reviews. That does not override its stated dietary credentials, but it should set realistic expectations for a first purchase.
The supplied data does not give a loaf weight or storage timeline. Ask the current package for those basics before ordering multiple loaves or allocating freezer space.
Choose gluten-free bread by safety details, format, and the way you will eat it
Start with safety. Gluten-free bread is made without wheat, barley, or rye, but people with celiac disease, wheat allergy, or non-celiac gluten sensitivity may have different requirements; a current certified gluten-free label and complete allergen statement are the most useful checks.
Do not fill in missing facts from a brand name. If the listing does not state certification, shared-facility practices, allergens, or ingredients, check the package and contact the maker when your medical needs call for certainty.
Next, choose the format before chasing general claims about the best taste. Wide sliced whole grain bread makes more sense for a substantial sandwich, while Cappello’s frozen baguettes make more sense for a baked dinner bread and Franz brioche is aimed at a distinct bread style.
Slice size deserves a real check. Forum users repeatedly point to miniature slices and loaves that collapse under fillings, so products that explicitly say wide sliced or full slices offer a clearer starting point; the claim still merits a package check.
Plan storage before the loaf arrives. Little Northern explicitly says it comes packed from the freezer, has a seven-day shelf life, and can be frozen for up to six months, while both Franz products state that they are best within five days once opened.
Toast is worth trying when a gluten-free loaf seems dry or delicate. Community feedback often says it improves even middling bread, but a toaster cannot turn a baguette into sliced sandwich bread or solve a slice size that does not fit your filling.
Finally, keep the flour science in perspective. Rice, tapioca, potato starch, buckwheat, and other gluten-free flours may be combined with binding agents such as xanthan gum or cellulose gum to replace gluten’s structure, so crumb, chew, and moisture can vary widely between loaves.
FAQs
What is the top rated gluten-free bread?
Among the 10 products compared here, 365 by Whole Foods Market Gluten Free Multigrain Bread has the highest displayed rating: 4.4 out of 5 from 3,281 reviews. It is a 20-ounce multigrain loaf with stated exclusions for hydrogenated fats, high fructose corn syrup, bleached or bromated flour, and synthetic nitrates or nitrites.
What is the best bread for people with gluten intolerance?
The best choice depends on the person’s needs and the current package label. Little Northern Bakehouse is a strong starting point because its listing states certified gluten free, vegan, and top-eight-allergen-free, while people with celiac disease should still verify current certification and allergen information before eating any loaf.
What is the best drink for celiac disease?
There is no single best drink determined by celiac disease. Water is a simple everyday choice, and people with celiac disease should check ingredient labels and cross-contact information for packaged drinks just as they do for food.
Which country eats the least gluten?
This question does not help identify a safe gluten-free bread. Gluten intake varies by diet and food culture, but an individual who needs to avoid gluten should choose products based on clear current labeling, certification where appropriate, and personal dietary guidance.
The best gluten free breads are the ones that match your everyday meal and safety needs
For the strongest all-around evidence, start with 365 Gluten Free Multigrain Bread. Choose Little Northern Bakehouse when certified gluten free status, vegan status, and wide slices lead the decision, or choose Cappello’s when a bake-at-home baguette fits the meal better than a sliced loaf.
The best gluten free breads in 2026 are not one-size-fits-all, especially for celiac disease and multiple allergies. Read the current package, match the loaf to toast, French toast, or sandwiches, and use the product details above to make a more confident first pick.









